I have been using the YSI Pro 1020 that I picked up used from a friend and like it quite a bit. It takes about 15-20 minutes to "warm-up" and stabilize before you can get consistent readings, but once it's ready...it's fast and easy. It reads DO, Temp, and PH. My cord is only about 4 foot long though. I don't think you can go wrong with the YSI brand.

Citydad,

I have been using the "API POND MASTER TEST KIT 500-Test" for the last 2 years and have been happy with it. It's about 25$ from Amazon and tests pH, Ammonia, Nitrite, and Phosphate. It is the test tube and dropper type which is not as handy as the electronic devices, but money talks. I took a 2x4 and drilled blind holes in it to hold the test tubes for adding the drops. That makes it much easier and quicker to perform the tests. I can test all the parameters in 10-15 minutes. This kit will last many years even if you are doing water tests every week. Maybe not in Florida due to the much longer pond season, but certainly a couple years.

The downsides compared to the expensive electric devices are...

1.) It's resolution is a bit wide, meaning you really can't tell what the readings are to a precise point. ie - PH can be determined to be between 6 and 6.5, but you'll be hard pressed to know that it is exactly 6.3. NOT a big deal for pond water. I have cross checked it with my electric DO/PH meter and it is always very close.

2.) The lighting available for comparing the test tubes to the chart can make it mildly questionable. Fluorescent bulbs will give a different reading compared to daylight, incandescent, etc. Still, not a big deal...just the difference between a little above a ph of 6 or a little below. I always use the same light in my shop to stay consistent.

Upsides...

1.) Affordable.

2.) Easy to use.

3.) It utilizes the proper ranges for ponds.