Great topic, and one on which I am NOT an expert. However, I am quickly learning by hard experience. I had a few comments that I thought might add to this discussion.

First, I want to ensure that winter aeration is given credit for being a useful technique. When you get sufficiently long winters with sufficiently productive water bodies, there is no way to sustain a fish community without aeration. So, this does NOT apply everywhere, but certainly does in the northern plains states (eastern SD is a good example). There is no way that a 3-acre pond, even 15 feet deep, would sustain a pond fish community through the winter in my locale without some assistance.

Before I continue, I must admit to knowing way too little about winter aeration. I was always taught and passed on the old idea that you put the aerator discharge into the deepest part of a water body. Heck, it made sense! The warmest water is at the bottom of the pond during the winter because water is heaviest at 39 F (4 C). [Without this very unique characteristic, ponds would freeze from the bottom up rather than the top down, and we’d really be in trouble! :-)] So, it made sense to me that you put the air bubbles into the warmest water, and then lifted that water to melt a hole in the ice above. This little factoid obviously was not correct! I also was always taught that direct transfer of oxygen from the air bubbles to the water was minimal. The open hole in the ice allows some photosynthesis and oxygen production, even from the reduced algal/plant community in winter. This little factoid apparently is correct, although I recently learned that direct transfer of oxygen also occurs from the atmosphere to the open-water surface.

The concept that winter aerators should be placed in shallow water has been a great example of how I have learned much from this forum. Let me pass on my “mistake” story.