nehunter, I'm not a professional dock designer, and I really don't know what dock design would work for your specific situation. I would still strongly recommend consulting a professional dock designer/engineer to determine the best approach.

However, I included a bit of information about my floating dock, just in case it might give you a few ideas to think about.

This is a 'stiff-arm' floating dock that I built to handle about a ten-foot change in water level, although it generally only sees about a six-foot tidal range. This is located in a tidal zone, but it's in fresh water, since the salt water from the Atlantic doesn't make it this far inland. Okay, it's not on a pond (unless you consider the Atlantic to be a very large 'pond'), but I thought it might be of some interest here.

I ordered the aluminum gangway from a company in Maine, but otherwise I constructed most of the components myself.