Just for kicks and since I'm an engineer I ran some numbers to try to quantify the difference in running 110 volts versus 220 volts. The bottom line is that 220 volts is a little better choice especially if you have a long run from power source to the motor, and it will run cooler. Here’s why. Let’s say you run a 12 gauge copper wire 100 feet from your breaker box to motor. This wire has a resistance of 0.00187 ohms per foot for a total resistance of 0.187 ohms. Let’s say you are running a generic 1/2 hp motor, it theoretically draws an average of 3.4 amps at 110 volts. The power loss in a wire is I x I x R, where I is current draw and R is total resistance. So in this situation you will lose 3.4 x 3.4 x 0.187 = 2.16 watts of power. Every hour you run the pump you lose 0.00216 kw-hr. If you run continuously you will lose 18.9 kw-hr per year. If you pay the average national rate of 10 cents per kw-hr this line loss will cost you $1.89 per year. Now if you use the same motor but switch it over to 220 volts the current draw is exactly half of that when running at 110 volts which is 1.7 amps. The power loss is 1.7 x 1.7 x 0.187 = 0.54 watts = 0.00054 watts = one fourth the loss at 110 volts. For an entire year you’ve now lost 4.7 kw-hr per year which cost $0.47 per year, again one fourth of what you lose at 110 volts. The difference is small but there is a difference. Now what if you have a 1000 foot run the electricity you waste running that same motor is $18.92 per year at 110 volts and $4.70 at 220 volts. I think this ought to settle the case that no one is wasting much money on buying the kw-hrs by going 110 versus 220 volts unless you have very long distances to run the wires. Ah, but that’s not all you lose. There is also a voltage drop associated with power line length. The voltage drop in the line is V = I x R. I’ll spare the math but for a 1000 foot run and the motor draw we’re talking about you would lose 6.4 volts by the time you got 110 volts to the motor wh