Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER
18,503 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,999
Members18,504
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,539
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
5 members (Harrison55, Boondoggle, Bigtrh24, FishinRod, Fishingadventure), 1,306 guests, and 289 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
M
OP Offline
M
Hi Pond Boss members! Yesterday I put 850 coppernose bluegill and 150 redear Shellcrackers in a 2 acre pond that I've been working on for about 2 years. The pond will average about 10' when full but currently 2'7". I'm filling it with 2 wells and we're starting to get a little rain.

3 main questions.

1) will these 1-3" bluegill spawn this young? I had planned on adding the Florida large mouth bass in June.
2) the water temperature is 66 degrees. I bought a bag of very small high protein feed from the fish hatchery. Should I be feeding them? They've only been in the new pond for 24 hours.
3) since there isn't any predator fish yet in the pond would I be wise to get some larger Coppernose and let them heavily spawn now, before the bass are added in June? That would give me 4 full moons before the bass for them to spawn.

I have 4 young sons. So my goal with this pond is trophy bluegill and mediocre bass.

Thank you all for what I've already learned reading your posts! 🙏

F
Lunker
Online Content
Lunker
F
Welcome to Pond Boss!

I believe BG as small as 3" can sometimes spawn. Further, the lack of larger BG may make it more likely that your small BG will spawn.

Regardless, they should grow rapidly and spawn later in the year if your pond is fertile. Are the BG already feed trained? If not, then they need to rely mostly on your natural food chain for rapid growth.