Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,990
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,537
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
7 members (Dave Davidson1, Fishingadventure, catscratch, Bobbss, Sunil, jmartin, RAH), 1,167 guests, and 386 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#562822 12/01/23 07:34 AM
N
NADam Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Good day everyone,

I am a new member here. I am from Namibia in Africa, I own 15,000 hectare farm and I am a farmer. I have a smallish river that runs through my farm, it is a non perennial river and I estimate it floods about 5-10 times on average each year if the rainfall is good. I don't have any idea on the flow rate but I have a video of it in flood if that may help. It is a tributary to a larger river. I was wondering the other day why can't I dam this river, nobody uses this water except it feeds my boreholes. The neighbour's farm which the river also flows through doesn't have any boreholes close to it as far as I know. The location I am thinking of for the dam is downstream of all of my boreholes so the river will still feed them, the location of the proposed dam is in a valley about 400m wide I estimate and the river is about 200m wide here. That may be a bit wide, but the other location where the valley is narrower like 200m and river 30m is upstream of my boreholes and on the lower location there is also 3 other smaller rivers which flows into the main one. Earth filled would probably be the best option I guess as concrete would be expensive and difficult to build. I don't yet have a idea on what capacity I am looking for as I don't want too small or too big of a dam, that's why I am l