Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,951
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
11 members (NADam, ArkieJig, highflyer, Lake8, catscratch, WallyB, Bigtrh24, Mainer, TonyinKY, Bill Cody, Rick O), 1,117 guests, and 247 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#550271 07/13/22 06:07 PM
P
OP Offline
P
Hi all pond people. I'm a newbie here but have been perusing the wealth of info on this forum for some time. We have recently had a one half acre pond installed on our farm intended as a multi-use resource for the family farm. It has been designed as a rainwater capture and storage body, to be used for fish production, livestock watering, swimming, wildlife habitat, irrigation and enjoyment of family and friends. (Not listed in any order of importance).

The sides are sloping 4/1. From the inlet end the bottom slopes from 4 ft. to 10 ft. at the deepest part. I was thinking of putting some brush in for small fish cover as well as some other structures for fish habitat. We have cedar, maple and mulberry brush we could use. Our pond contractor says brush promotes algae growth. Is that so? How long does brush last under water? What I have is all under 4" diameter. What depth should it be anchored at?

F
Lunker
Lunker
F
Livestock watering DOES NOT mix well with your other multi-use pond objectives.

Is it possible for you to run a line to a cattle tank or to a newly-dug small pond and exclude the cattle from your main pond?

They will destroy the banks, muddy the water, and "fertilize" your pond.