Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,080
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,414
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
14 members (jludwig, Donatello, catscratch, DrLuke, esshup, Requa, Shorthose, Blestfarmpond, JasonInOhio, H20fwler, Theo Gallus, Justin W, LeighAnn, Bob Lusk), 844 guests, and 210 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#543841 02/08/22 03:25 PM
J
Jreb79 Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Naïve newbie here in Deep South Alabama. I have an acre and a half pond (4-9ft deep) that I stocked Spring of 2020 with fathead minnows and 1000 cnbg. December 2020 I stocked 100 fingerling largemouth bass. FHM are all gone as expected. I regularly fertilized the pond and fed the bluegill during the summer months. The bluegill population is and has been absolutely exploding since day one. Even today I see tons of 1 inch fingerling BG minnows in the grass is near the bank. I assume that the small fingerling bluegill are very young and hatched recently this winter…..?? We have had no significant harvest of any fish since the pond was built. The oldest BG aren’t even 2 years old yet.

Last year I was concerned that I did not have any bass from the original stocking because I saw Zero bass at all until last summer. Now I can regularly catch two or three bass I am hour. Rarely have time to goof off any longer to catch more but I thought if most of the 100 LMB survived the original stocking I would easily catch quite a bit more. All the bass seen and caught are in the 1.5 lbs range. I am still concerned that most of the bass from the original stocking did not survive. Are they that hard to catch and good at hiding?