Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,051
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
2 members (Rainman, Bobbss), 458 guests, and 152 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
T
OP Offline
T
Hey folks,
I'm new to the pond world but had one on my property all my life including growing up. I recently built a small one near the house, 1/2 acre surface but 30ft deep at dam for some casual bass fishing. I added an aerator to the deep end as well.

The pond filled early 2021. In January I sunk 10 pine trees to the bottom for habitat, and in March/April I had 40lbs of fatheads and 40lbs of shiners added to it. Intent being, to get the ecosystem going before adding the bigger fish.

This week, I had the pond stocked. I was supposed to be getting/the invoice & order shows I got:
  • 40lbs more fatheads
  • 40lbs more shiners
  • 40 5-7" largemouth bass
  • 750 4-6" bluegill
  • 20 5-7" hybrid striped bass
  • 15 4-6" channel catfish

I thought the guy delivering seemed like he was here quick, so I asked him before he left - you got ALL this delivered? He seemed legit when he answered, so I accepted it. When I walked inside, my wife asked me the same thing... so I went back and watched the security camera. The delivery guy made 4 trips, each trip carrying a 5gal bucket in each hand -- 8 5gal buckets total.

I'm assuming the 40lbs of fatheads and shiners are using the buckets as measurement, so that was a bucket each. Which leaves 6 buckets.

Are all those fish possible to move in 6 buckets? That seemed unrealistic, but before I approached them, I wanted to make sure my head is on straight! smile

Thanks,
Colin