Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,113
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,417
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
9 members (anthropic, Boondoggle, Fishingadventure, phinfan, jpsdad, Brett B, catscratch, jbird5986, Freg), 644 guests, and 171 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
R
OP Offline
R
I'm new to the pond building game. I have one that is filling that is that's about 1/3 full.

3.5 acre total pond
19' deep
While there are a couple wet weather springs that feed the pond, it's not spring or creek fed. It's run off fed from a big bowl above the pond. I'm confident I can get it full, just wanted to know if, when it's dry and hot, the aeration would help the cause.

I have no electric run to the premises, but it's only about 100 yards off the road, so I'm sure that'd be an option if I really wanted to.

I know nothing about aeration systems and sizing them, but want to do this once and have the bill hurt once.

What would you recommend? I'm partial to a solar setup as I'd have a nice south facing slope to mount things, but am not sure what and how to go about it.

I'm open to hearing what you guys would do.

Last edited by roymunson; 08/31/21 04:05 PM.
F
Lunker
Lunker
F
Civilization runs on steady, reliable electricity.

Any aeration system you build and operate WILL be much easier and cheaper using grid electricity. (Cheaper is based on not having to pay the large initial investment for the solar panels and associated hardware.)

However, there is a big "but". The electric company typically will not set a transformer for the tiny amount of power they will sell you to run your aeration system.