Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
MidwestCass, Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96
18,483 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,946
Posts557,795
Members18,484
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,512
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
9 members (John Folchetti, Knobber, shores41, LeighAnn, canyoncreek, esshup, Drago, Boondoggle, ArkieJig), 1,011 guests, and 196 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#538648 08/11/21 09:45 AM
P
Pez Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Hello, All

Newbie here so go easy wheezy!lol

I live in SE Michigan and would very much like to do something different than just the normal bass/bluegill pond. I was fully planning on going South in 5 years and live out my remaining years fishing the big ponds(ocean) however as is the case for a lot of us married folk the wife through a wrench in that plan. As a comprise to staying here at least part time I get a pond and a barn to occupy my time….so now I have a lot of damn questions and learning to do.

I’m hoping to have the pond completed by this time next year…It will be 5 acres and 25-30 foot deep if deemed appropriate for my needs/wants. Regardless it’ll be 5 acres, but the depth is my major concern or unknown. I’d like to have a walleye, perch, possibly crappie, pike fishery. Yes, I’m aware that reproducing is unlikely if not impossible, but I’m not against stocking periodically. No offense to the bass bluegill crowd, but I’m just not a fan.lol

Here’s my big question or dilemma…can I aerate, keep the temps down and the oxygen good at 25-30 feet to accommodate these species. I fully plan to stock and very possibly even hatch my own food fish(minnows) to keep my predators happy.