Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Bennettrand, Jward87, Kanon M, KWL, Homestead 101
18,496 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,960
Posts557,935
Members18,496
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,493
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,145
Who's Online Now
11 members (Drago, Justin W, Augie, Shorthose, emactxag, Sunil, 4CornersPuddle, SetterGuy, Dave Davidson1, gautprod, Bigtrh24), 757 guests, and 246 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
O
OhioJon Offline OP
OP Offline
O
Hello everyone, I am very new to ponds, but I have a 1/2 acre pond on a property I bought recently. To make a long story short, the pond was incredibly clear and beautiful from the previous owner, but I have come to learn he used copper sulfate to clean it and I'd rather not use something like that. I did not proactively do anything to the pond this year which was a mistake because the hot Ohio weather the last few days sprouted a small algae bloom on the surface, it is very small compared to the total body of water, my estimate is less than 5% of the surface had this. I only noticed it because the wind blew it all to one corner of the pond.

I have been tryin to educate myself as much as I can on the different types of algae and how harmful they are and what to do to fix them. I believe this is a planktonic algae, and read they can be hazardous. The problem is there are SO MANY pond products out there I don't know what to do. I do not have any kind of aeration, but am looking to add a system maybe next year. Is there a band-aid I can put on this so my fish stay healthy and we can still swim in it until I can put more proper means to keep my pond healthy?

Thank you in advance.

[Linked Image from forums.pondboss.com]

Last edited by OhioJon; 07/07/21 02:58 PM. Reason: Adding linked photos in text