Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,080
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,414
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
14 members (jludwig, Donatello, catscratch, DrLuke, esshup, Requa, Shorthose, Blestfarmpond, JasonInOhio, H20fwler, Theo Gallus, Justin W, LeighAnn, Bob Lusk), 844 guests, and 210 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
W
wings Offline OP
OP Offline
W
Hey guys - finally got my pond full and trying to determine my aerator system. I’m new to ponds so want a pretty turn key setup, but trying to decide between Airmax PS10 or HiBlow hp150
The pond is about .2 acre and depth is 8-8.5’.

The hiblow setup is $400-$500 cheaper than the airmax but I know my depth is pushing it’s rated limits. Thoughts on which I should go with? Or some third system? My main goal is to keep the water clean enough for swimming (no fish for now)

B
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
B
Hi-Blow when running at maximum depth will result in shorter times between rebuilds and maximum depth stress will shorten it's life span. Rebuild kits are expensive. HiBlows are designed for shallow lily ponds and septic tanks. IMO it is better up front to spend a little extra money for a unit that can better handle the 8.5 ft depth. Cheaper often ends up costing more money in long term.

If you are handy one can often buy the individual parts from different locations to lower the total cost. If you can figure out a way to not need the pump cabinet this will save significant dollars. Easy well ventilated pump cabinets can be built or one can use modified small dog houses or other box-like items.