Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,076
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,412
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
14 members (Requa, Shorthose, Blestfarmpond, esshup, DrLuke, JasonInOhio, H20fwler, Theo Gallus, Justin W, LeighAnn, Bob Lusk, catscratch, Freg, DenaTroyer), 807 guests, and 212 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
L
LTL Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Hello all - this is my first time posting so hopefully I'll do this correctly. I live on a small lake in SC (about 20-22 acres, gets down to around 25-30 feet in depth) - it has plenty of threadfin shad, bass, bream and it has some larger crappie (never caught any smaller ones). It also has a few catfish in it and recently I figured out that these were flathead catfish. They are not too big (the biggest I have caught was maybe 4 lbs and the smallest was maybe 2 lbs). I have seen them bed in the lake before and last year I even got a video of 2 parents protecting what had to have been hundreds their young as they fed. So I had no concerns until recently I saw a few articles warning against having flatheads in small lakes or ponds so I was looking for some feedback - should I remove them when I catch them or are they perfectly fine in a lake of this size?
Thanks in advance for any feedback or advice.

L
LTL Offline OP
OP Offline
L
I'll also try posting one of the catfish pics, just to confirm that these are flatheads...

Attached Images
Capture.PNG
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Online Content
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Flatheads have HUGE mouths, and they can eat some pretty good sized bass, along with any sized panfish you can grow.