Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,954
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
6 members (ewest, Drago, Shorthose, TSan06, phinfan, DrLuke), 1,429 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
F
foliage Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Hi everyone. I was hoping I could find some direction / assistance here as you’ll quickly realize, I am an Aeration novice. (So please excuse any of my silly questions).

Setting the scene.

We're located in Southern Ontario, and we have roughly an acre (maybe larger) of land beside our house that becomes marshy during the spring and summer months and dries up towards the fall. In an attempt to dry out the center of this land we trenched out a water way and a pond in the circumference of this land. On this acre we have a circular pond section that is roughly 145’ x 135’ and canal that is 246’ and an intersecting canal that is 147’ in length (please see pictures below). Although there are some deeper parts (5-6’), for the most part it is shallow at 2.5’-4’. I want to use aeration to help control the mosquito population as this water becomes still in the summer months. Currently we use dunks for the mosquitoes. I also hope aeration will help with weed control (not looking for miracles, but an improvement would be nice).

[img]https://imgur.com/6RckhYK[/img]Size / layout

[img]https://imgur.com/gGtdnCg[/img]Depth

Scourging our toolshed we were able to generate a few items that I hope to use towards an aeration system:
-HiBlow 80 pumps x 2
-EcoPlus 3566 GPH (13500 LPH, 200W)
-200’ of weighted tubing
-150’ of non-weighted tubing