Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
macman59, jm96, flowindustrial, ksueotto58, John Folchetti
18,480 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,781
Members18,481
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,505
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,140
Who's Online Now
7 members (Fishingadventure, FishinRod, Sunil, Shorthose, phinfan, Rangersedge, Joe7328), 975 guests, and 215 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#520035 04/27/20 08:29 PM
P
OP Offline
P
Hello everyone, I am new to Pond Boss and am joining due to the wealth of information that seems to be on here. I am in desperate need to learn how to manage my pond as its not something I have ever done before, but is something I really want to get into.

I just recently purchased an older property with a pond. In total we have about 5.5 acres of land and about 2 of that is the "pond". Now I say "pond" because over half of that 2 acres is mostly cattails and marsh/wet land with no visible (or very little) water. There is actually about .5 of an acre that is considered the pond itself which is very heavily silted. The home was built in 1936, while I don't know the exact age of the pond, I am thinking it's 50+ years old. The previous owners bought the place in the early 1980s and the pond was well into its years by that point.

As it stands today, the deepest point of my .5 acre pond is slightly over 2 feet. The depth ranges between 1-2 feet throughout and the closer you get the shore its drop down to several inches only. If one steps from shore you sink into the muck well over a foot so it can be assumed the further out you go, the deeper that muck is. The previous owners had a survey done and in 1999 the pond's deepest point was 5.5 feet deep so there is an obvious silt problem.