Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,051
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
2 members (Rainman, Bobbss), 458 guests, and 152 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#486629 02/26/18 11:36 PM
D
OP Offline
D
I've got a half a bag of Optimal left from last year. How quickly does it degrade? Is it shot? Or should I go ahead and use it?

J Waters
Dam'd Waters Farm
2/3 ac dam'd stream pond
BG, HBG, RES, LMB, YP
N
N
I’m not an expert, but as long as it has been kept dry and there are no signs of bugs or mold I would use it.

NTHA - North Texas Half Acre
Cattle Ranch Ponds
D
Lunker
Lunker
D
So would i

It's not about the fish. It's about the pond. Take care of the pond and the fish will be fine. PB subscriber since before it was in color.

Without a sense of urgency, Nothing ever gets done.

Boy, if I say "sic em", you'd better look for something to bite. Sam Shelley Rancher and Farmer Muleshoe Texas 1892-1985 RIP
Yep, cool and dry is the way to go. If I've got multiple bags, I put them on a pallet so floor condensation doesn't become a problem.

AL

D
OP Offline
D
Ok. I'll go ahead and use it. It was in an unheated garage - cool and dry. I had heard or read that the protein degrades to lower levels over time, but I'm pretty sure the fish will be hungry once the ice is gone.

J Waters
Dam'd Waters Farm
2/3 ac dam'd stream pond
BG, HBG, RES, LMB, YP
I would toss it. Fatty acids and especially vitamins are what break down with most effect. My preference is to use feed within 90 days of manufacture and going that long only if not opened in a cool dry location without sun exposure.