Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,120
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,420
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
11 members (jbird5986, Sunil, Justin W, Bing, Boondoggle, bstone261, DenaTroyer, Theo Gallus, Shorthose, Freg, Fishingadventure), 878 guests, and 193 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
K
KCKyle Offline OP
OP Offline
K
I searched around quite a bit but could not finding any info on how to test water for safe swimming. I may just not understand the search function. I have zero experience with pond management but have a property under contract. My kids are going to want to swim and I just want to be sure the water is safe. We had a story in the news a while back about a child that died from brain eating amoeba.

I would love some advice on water testing options.

Thanks

D
Lunker
Lunker
D
I'm not qualified to give advice on something like that. However, there are places to have water tested for safety and/or purity.

It's not about the fish. It's about the pond. Take care of the pond and the fish will be fine. PB subscriber since before it was in color.

Without a sense of urgency, Nothing ever gets done.

Boy, if I say "sic em", you'd better look for something to bite. Sam Shelley Rancher and Farmer Muleshoe Texas 1892-1985 RIP
The Naegleria fowleri amoeba can be as far north as you are - there is a lake in Minnesota that had it back in 2010 - so yes it's possible.

Nose clips are the best preventative other than staying out of the water, on the very off chance your BOW has the amoeba.

See this article for more info:

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/natio...rasite/3633531/

Dale