Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,131
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,422
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
14 members (FishinRod, Bill Cody, Sunil, jpsdad, Boondoggle, Augie, Jason D, PRCS, Shorthose, Brett B, Layne, Angler8689, rjackson, esshup), 1,006 guests, and 221 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#39785 11/05/02 08:22 PM
M
Mark C. Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I am new to this web site and already I am HOOKED. It has sooooo much information. But as a brand new pond owner (I just bought 26 acres with a 2 acre pond on it) I need to cut to the chase and get some step by step advice on what to do to have a great pond. The pond I have is several years old (15-20) but in great shape despite no care. It had a pretty thick bloom of algae this year and with our drought, it got a little on the dark and dank side. The pond depth ranges from two feet to 10 feet and is L shaped. I have been removing scrub willow, other plants, and wood debris away from its shore. There is no farming on the land I own or even nearby. It is a spring-fed pond, but in need of care.

I was considering using Aquashade to stifle the weeds from starting next growing season but I read in the other Forums that you don't want this for a fish pond. Is it really a bad thing to do? If not Aquashade, what should I do to have a less weeded pond next spring and summer. It's mostly a mix of sub-surface weeds that eventually mnake it to the top that I want to get rid of. Algae doesn't appear to be a big problem yet from what I can observe. So, step 1, what king of weed prevention program and chemicals should I use to re-hab this pond? Aquashade seems so recommended.