Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Neal Horner, Champ59, fletchccc, etx-pond-c, Painterpond
18,537 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics41,022
Posts558,592
Members18,538
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,607
ewest 21,516
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,160
Who's Online Now
11 members (Boondoggle, GhostRiver, Knobber, WiYeti, Champ59, catscratch, Shorthose, ghdmd, Sunil, Tinylake, esshup), 1,053 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#349778 09/04/13 08:54 AM
E
edc10 Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Hello, let me introduce myself. My name is Ed and I am in NE Ohio. I am new to this PB site and am really enjoying reading all the posts. I have 1/10 acre pond averaging 3 feet in depth (7 foot max.). I had it dug out 10 years a ago. All that is in it now is a good amount of black muck, my vertex new aerator running 24/7 for the past 2 weeks, and a bunch of really small frogs that jump in when I walk by.

The pond is being treated by Aqua Doc for algae and looks good now.

I don't have any long term specific plans for this pond except to get the muck cleaned up and gradually stock it with some fish for eating and fishing fun. It is located right outside our bay window and provides a beautiful view.

I am in no rush to stock. Just want to do it right. I have been reading here on PB about the importance of forage fish and the concerns about predator fish introduced to early. Is now (Sept) a good time to stock this pond? Can you help with what fish/minnows and how many.

Thanks in advance for the help!

R
Ambassador
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
Ambassador
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
R