Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,051
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
6 members (catscratch, Brandon Larson, Layne, Dave Davidson1, Blestfarmpond, Angler8689), 638 guests, and 166 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#285089 03/22/12 06:48 AM
S
OP Offline
S
Hello

I am new to Pond Boss and I must say it is a great site.

We purchased a home last fall that has a 1.25 acre pond. The pond has an aeration system already install that has (3) seperate diffusers.

My questions are: At what times of the year should we be running the system? And is it ok to cycle the system on and off throughout the day or should it run 24/7?

The previous owners just told me to turn it on when the ambient temperature gets over 80 degrees and turn it off after it falls below 80 degrees.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Luke

Hall of Fame
Lunker
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Get a timer run it for 12hrs over night.. Start with 1 hr first day 2 next 4 next 8 next 12 next.. When water surface temps reach 60

I believe in catch and release. I catch then release to the grease..

BG. CSBG. LMB. HSB. RES.

[Linked Image from i90.photobucket.com]
G
Lunker
Lunker
G
After a fish kill a few years ago, we turn aeration system on in the spring and off late fall.
Electricity is cheaper than replacing trophy fish....

N.E. Texas 2 acre and 1/4 acre ponds
Original george #173 (22 June 2002)

Ambassador
Lunker
Ambassador
Lunker