Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,951
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
1 members (Bobbss), 857 guests, and 152 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
R
RAH Offline
Lunker
Lunker
R
Thanks for the post. Hybrid crops and livestock are not typically between different species, but rather between different lines within one species. As I noted, I have no knowledge as to how this works within LMB. For me, I actually prefer genetic diversity over genetic superiority. Superiority is only relative to the current conditions. A study in the Galapagos found that a lizard population became larger over time. Scientists could not understand why the lizards had taken so long to start increasing in size. Then a drought struck and only the small lizards survived.

C
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
C
I think with seeds used in agriculture such as corn, hybrid has a slightly different definition. The Galapagos are certainly a very interesting place to studying genetics, as are most highly isolated island biotas.

R
RAH Offline
Lunker
Lunker
R
CJBS - how are the crops and fish different?

D
Lunker
Lunker
D
RAH, if that was an over simplification, I'm not asking any really tough questions.

It's not about the fish. It's about the pond. Take care of the pond and the fish will be fine. PB subscriber since before it was in color.

Without a sense of urgency, Nothing ever gets done.

Boy, if I say "sic em", you'd better look for something to bite. Sam Shelley Rancher and Farmer Muleshoe Texas 1892-1985 RIP
E