Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,964
Posts558,008
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
12 members (Drago, JoshMI, Sunil, Jason D, Boondoggle, highflyer, FishinRod, Shorthose, anthropic, canyoncreek, Dave Davidson1, esshup), 1,109 guests, and 198 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
N
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
N
Hi everyone... new member, thanks for the great resource!

Some friends and I have recently started managing a 5 acre pond. I'm new to this so it should be a good learning opportunity.

My question is, what should we be doing while there is still ice on the pond?

We ice fished it once and observed a large population of small, malnourished bluegill that appeared to be suffering the effects of low DO levels. The water was also turbid under the ice (looked a little yellow).

We plan on collecting a water sample this week for a jar test. Anything else we should be doing right now?

The Lab
A 5-acre Stunted BG Project
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
Online Content
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
Keeping snow off of areas of the pond is helpful to let light in which I think helps with water quality?

Excerpt from Robert Crais' "The Monkey's Raincoat:"
"She took another microscopic bite of her sandwich, then pushed it away. Maybe she absorbed nutrients from her surroundings."

Lunker
Lunker
Don't fall through the ice. I hate when that happens.

"Live like you'll die tomorrow, but manage your grass like you'll live forever."
-S. M. Stirling
[Linked Image from i.pinimg.com]
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent