Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,988
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,537
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
3 members (catscratch, Boondoggle, Steve Clubb), 933 guests, and 260 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#561066 09/03/23 05:00 PM
OP Offline
Thinking about trying smallmouth bass in 1/2 acre pond again. Tried several years ago, but for some reason they all disappeared after awhile ?

Pond had LMB in fair numbers at the time
Smallmouth were were from a river

Any thought on this ?

F
Lunker
Lunker
F
I am NOT an expert, but there have been several posts on Pond Boss where people reported that SMB frequently struggle in small ponds that have a reproducing population of LMB.

However, there are also multiple threads where SMB have thrived in small ponds where the SMB are the top predator.

Another factor may have been the river to pond transfer. SMB can certainly thrive in ponds. However, there have been several reports on Pond Boss of fish (of several different species) being transferred from creeks and rivers having suboptimal survival rates when moved to a pond.

If you really want SMB, then one option would be grow up your LMB population as much as possible and then fish and seine them out and then drain and rotenone your pond and start with a blank slate.

I know that sounds like a bitter pill, but it may actually be much easier than fighting a multi-year battle with two kinds of bass and you not reaching your goals for either species.