Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,993
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,538
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 822 guests, and 219 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline
In years past the bass in my pond (1/2 acre) have always kept the BG and LMB fry trimmed down. Last winter I noticed an otter in the pond (who mysteriously disappeared the next day). I have no idea how long he had been in there. I have noticed the normal 15-20 twelve inch bass I had have been reduced to one and two little guys of about 6" except for a group of 6 bass (2-4 lbs) I have been feeding in the same spot for 2 years now.

So the problem is I have numerous large schools of small BG and LMB (1.5"- 3") swimming around that no one is eating ! The large bass I feed just swim in and out of one of these schools of fish and seem not interested one bit in consuming any of them.

So I am assuming my smaller bass used to keep the forage trimmed down and they disappeared due to the otter. Unless something starts consuming these fish I am going to have an unwanted population explosion. If I stop feeding the larger bass I have been feeding - will they start eating these schools of small fish ?

Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
General thinking is that when pond fish are on a feed program, they still eat other natural food items.