Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BarkyDoos, beauphus, Lina, blueyss, KiwiGuy
18,517 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,995
Posts558,307
Members18,518
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,577
ewest 21,508
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,155
Who's Online Now
6 members (Fishingadventure, teehjaeh57, Boondoggle, phinfan, Bigtrh24, Zep), 751 guests, and 243 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#542652 01/06/22 09:05 AM
C
OP Offline
C
I currently share a 7 acre pond. It's at least 60 years old and until recently. Has never been maintained. I have been using bacteria for the past 3 years and can tell a noticeable difference in the sludge depth. I'm wanting to add aeraeration but not sure which. The pond is 4-5' in the coves and 6-7' in the the center. I do have power in 2 locations at the pond and possibly more if needed. I see the benefits of both surface and bottom aeration. What would be the best bang for my buck? Systems that would keep it aerated and keep my power bill somewhat in check. As a reference I have a 3/4 hp ice eater I use during waterfowl season and it's runs $40 a month. Attached is a picture of the pond.
Thanks for your help!
Clint

Attached Images
Screenshot_20220106-075215_Earth.jpg
F
Lunker
Lunker
F
Question 1.) What are your goals for the pond?

Question 2.) Will the other owners support your goals and split some costs?

C
OP Offline
C
The other owners support my goals and are willing to help out to a degree. Financially most of the cost is my responsibility. My goals are to create great habitat/ecosystem for all wildlife. Once I have that, I would like a great fishery.

F
Lunker
Lunker
F
Good deal that everyone is mostly on the same page!