Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,056
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
15 members (Donatello, Freg, tws3, rjackson, jpsdad, Layne, jludwig, Shorthose, DenaTroyer, Theo Gallus, Tinylake, catscratch, Brandon Larson, Dave Davidson1, Blestfarmpond), 643 guests, and 177 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
Dilley Offline OP
OP Offline
D
So I've been fighting with a murky pond for 3 years. It's finally cleared up though which is awesome. I've got some really big bass. I caught a 4 lb and there are tons more just like him I can see them from the shore.

Thing is now my bluegill do not seem as well populated as they were. Before they would follow me around when i paddle out. Now they are no where to be seen. I do also now have quite a bit of american pond weed along the shores. I'm guessing the bluegill now just have to hide out because the bass can finally see?

I have a feeder that is floating in the middle of the pond when I ran it last weekend and today nothing hit the food. This clarity is coincidentally coming at the same time winter is coming though so I'm also wondering if the BG especially the bigger BG just aren't bothering with food right now. It is still warm down here in South TX though.

Thing is when I ran the feeder 3-4 big bass just started sharking the heck out of it. So I'm guessing they are just having to be more cautious?

Curious if others have seem similar behavior changes when the water clears up or if y'all think I should be concerned for my BG population?

Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Well, it depends.