Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,057
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
16 members (emactxag, jpsdad, Dave Davidson1, Saratznj, Donatello, Layne, Freg, Sunil, tws3, rjackson, jludwig, Shorthose, DenaTroyer, Theo Gallus, Tinylake, catscratch), 650 guests, and 182 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#524061 07/28/20 11:28 AM
benrep Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all, newbie here,

I found this site too late! I am crushed.

I have many questions at the end but will start with the pond background.

I have a 31 year old (I put it in) 1/3+ acre pond 14' deep at it's deepest. It has been, over the years, stocked with bluegill, large mouth bass, and yellow fin perch. It is rain/ditch fed for about a few months or so a year. Usually fills up and spills for a short while. It drops 3 to 5 feet depending on the summer. Has some willows around it that provide some shade, cat tails etc. There are fir trees close dropping needles and cones into it. My son and I have spent years trying to get a balanced fish population. We catch and bring them home. We have had Otter wars twice, and have no idea what they took. The last two springs we thought we were there. Lots of bluegill fry and bass fry two years of lengths, 1/2" to 2". it was looking really good.