Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,051
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
2 members (Rainman, Bobbss), 458 guests, and 152 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#520166 04/29/20 10:52 PM
K
KCFly Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hello to everyone, I'm new here and am a total newbie when it comes to ponds.

I purchased a 5 acre piece of ground a few years back and it had this little pond on it. (maybe 1/10 of an acre) I think it was most likely a septic lagoon when it was built, but that was well over 30-40 years ago and there are no records. The house has been gone for at least a decade.

Anyway, i have cleared most of the brush and trees from the dam and around the pond and am seeing ducks, frogs and even some small fish in the pond.

What I would like to do is add some height to the dam and dig out some dirt on the other side to make this pond a little larger and a little deeper. Most of the 5 acres drains to this pond and it has never gone dry in the 5 years I have owned it. For the past 2 years, it has regularly been over flowing the dam and starting to cut a channel in the dam.

I have access to nearly unlimited clay from a nearby residential development. They are willing to bring truckloads of clay to me from the foundations they are digging out.

My questions:

1. What do I need to consider when adding to the dam? I'm assuming I need to clear any vegetation and try to compact the clay as much as possible when adding.
2. There is no spillway or drain pipe currently. What would be my best solution here?
3. Do I need to dig out any muck from the pond now, or can I just skip doing that?