Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,951
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
11 members (NADam, ArkieJig, highflyer, Lake8, catscratch, WallyB, Bigtrh24, Mainer, TonyinKY, Bill Cody, Rick O), 1,117 guests, and 247 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Bill D. Offline OP
OP Offline
I have very little experience with pellet trained fish so am looking for a little info. I have read that pellet training fish usually requires placing the fish in containment and using a "eat pellets or die," approach.

If you stock pellet trained fish, BG for example, will their fingerlings automatically start eating pellets or do you need to capture them and place them in containment?

Any other info/incite would be appreciated.

[Linked Image]
Be Brave Enough to Suck at Something New!
R
R
back about a year ago, i would fish this same spot every day for a couple months, when i would go it was about the same time every day and same location, i would bring 3 to 5 slices of bread and feed all the sunfish that hung around. as the days went on from me starting i noticed more and more sunfish would be there waiting for me to feed them, even the what i believe to be YOY started feeding on the bread too. so i believe that its a monkey-see monkey-do strategy that is easier accomplished when they are young? not sure just my take.

6.5 acre
YP mainly
Northern LP Michigan
E
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
E
That is correct - BG and some other species are subject to conditioning behavior. They can be trained as yoy as hatcheries do or will be conditioned in a pond by seeing others eat.