Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
EGS, Ben Davis, DBS, SHORTCREEK, Goldie1!
18,527 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics41,009
Posts558,463
Members18,528
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,603
ewest 21,512
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,158
Who's Online Now
2 members (canyoncreek, Jward87), 1,273 guests, and 154 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#352249 09/29/13 03:19 AM
B
OP Offline
B
Hi all.

Some of you have seen me here before, many times, seeking advice and updating the forum about a leaking lake I've been working on for about 20 years now. Yes, twenty years.

We left off with the contractor coming back for the third or fourth time in Feb of 2012. We dug into the levee and found sand. So, they took a huge track hoe and a dozer and dug out the sand, which took nearly two weeks. We probably dug sand for over 200 feet down the top of the dam and probably 15 feet wide and mover ten feet deep. We then took a 17 yard dirt pan and filled it back with good clay. The back side of the levee did not show signs of water this year, and I believe we have fixed that problem. We dug a new core ditch in front of the old core ditch just for extra.

Still, it was apparent that the lake was still leaking once I got it full again. I didn't worry too much over this last year since I was prepared to give it the benefit of the doubt and let it settle and self-compact for a year. This is now the near end of year two and although it took longer, the lake eventually dropped to the level where it always falls, and how appears to have quit falling. Right in the same place.