Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
victortechy, fishengelbert, Woody Jones, Joe7328, Reno Guerra
18,475 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,938
Posts557,717
Members18,476
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,493
ewest 21,489
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,134
Who's Online Now
3 members (simon, Boondoggle, Freunb02), 703 guests, and 340 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
J
OP Offline
J
I've got a well established pond, about 7 acres, in Texas that was build before I bought the property. The pond leaks from the bottom, under the dam, and the transmitted water is evident about 25 yards behind the dam. I'm a Civil Engineer with lots of experience with reservoirs and earthwork; however, solving a leak is more of an art than a science I've found out! I've inspected the dam - solid. The pond still holds a lot of water - about 18' deep despite the severe drought. I'm suspicious of a lens of gravel or sandy material at the bottom of the pond that is is providing the transmissivity of the the water from the bottom, under the dam (I don't know about any key-way) where it becomes exposed down-gradient of the dam. When the water surface in the pond is down, like it is now, there is no noticeable flow under the dam (i.e. no found water behind the dam). When the water level in the lake is high, there is a good bit of standing water behind the dam. This is obviously related to the hydrostatic pressure on the transmitting material.