Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
TanyaClick, Brian from Texas, Purplepiggies7, BamaBass9, Sryously
18,508 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,976
Posts558,122
Members18,509
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,562
ewest 21,502
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,154
Who's Online Now
10 members (Boondoggle, Pat Williamson, phinfan, Bobbss, FishinRod, anthropic, TEC, catscratch, Treebanger, Bill Cody), 1,108 guests, and 187 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#320073 02/02/13 12:07 PM
D
DWM Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hello,I'm new to this so please bare with me. I had a pond dug 2 1/2 years ago,it has filled up twice only to go bone dry both times. The pond is about 1/3 to 1/4 acre and about 15ft deep and my only water supply is runoff. My builder dug a core at 8 ft and carried water across the core, he also spread clay on the whole pond and packed it down. The pond is full now and seems to hold water good for about 2 days before I notice it going down again. I notice all around the edge of the pond the ground stays wet about 2ft from the edge,and I wonder if it could be soaking in the ground? Or maybe leaking somewhere else? How effective is bentonite clay when the pond is full or is there some other way to maybe seal the pond? any advice would be great thanks.

DWM #320099 02/02/13 02:05 PM
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Welcome to Pond Boss, DWM! Glad you found us and hope that you can get answers to help you out.

At the risk of stating the obvious, yep, you've got a leak! The good news is probably that since it goes totally dry, it shouldn't be hard to work on the solution.