Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,951
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
2 members (gehajake, catscratch), 938 guests, and 165 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
R
Rowly Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Has anyone been using domestic ducks and geese to help fertilize their northern waters? I have been doing this for 2 years. I started out with 16 domestic ducks and geese in my 19 acre clear gravel pit. In 2004 with reproduction my #'s increased to around 80 living into 2005 with many wild Canada geese flying in and out. I lose some fowl to predatation of foxes and coyotes along the shorelines. The results appear to be reduced water visibility to 4-6'range from 8-10', hopefully with increased plankton and zooplankton blooms for the yoy BG, LMB/ yellow perch. In addition the fowl help control water vegetation throughtout the lake.

I would like to hear from other who are using this method or have in the past. Thanks

Rowly

D
Lunker
Lunker
D
Rowly, My 6 year old Grandson tosses every cow chip he finds into the water to fertilize it. He figures that if we use it for the lawn, it has to be good for water.