Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BoomerTC35D, cjschuhmann, Teroni, EGS, Ben Davis
18,530 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics41,013
Posts558,511
Members18,530
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,605
ewest 21,512
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,159
Who's Online Now
7 members (canyoncreek, Boondoggle, Bill Cody, Fishingadventure, Bobbss, Dave Davidson1, Mainer), 1,276 guests, and 481 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
I
is it Offline OP
OP Offline
I
would walleye spawn in a 20 acre-25acre lake cold water gravel bottom
i am planning/thinking on making a lake this size

Chairman, Pond Boss Legacy award; Moderator; field correspondent
Lunker
Chairman, Pond Boss Legacy award; Moderator; field correspondent
Lunker
I'm no expert at WE reproduction, but I should say the size would allow it, provided the preferred substrate is available [rock, gravel, etc.] Experts will be along shortly...

Many men go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not fish they are after. ~ Henry David Thoreau

[Linked Image from i1261.photobucket.com]

J
JKB Offline
Hall of Fame 2015
Lunker
Hall of Fame 2015
Lunker
J
WE generally spawn in rivers. MDNR collects WE when they cruise up the Muskegon River in spring to spawn. I am pretty close to that location, but it takes a research permit and other legal stuff to do this.

Here is some info on WE culture: Walleye Culture Manual

Pretty good read. It covers a number of flavors, and may just give you some ideas.

Maybe Bill Cody would know if the London Strain (domesticated) is available, or whats up with that!

Messing around with WE is pretty high on my bucket list eek wink

D
Lunker
Lunker
D