Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
JKK, DerekG, lafarmpondguy, bmo, TanyaClick
18,512 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,985
Posts558,200
Members18,513
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,565
ewest 21,507
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,154
Who's Online Now
10 members (JKK, Bobbss, tlogan, Fishingadventure, shooterlurespond, KiwiGuy, Bill Cody, Boondoggle, Bigtrh24, lafarmpondguy), 1,048 guests, and 150 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
U
OP Offline
U
Hello everyone! First off, thank you everyone for all the informatin that I've obtained from hiding blush I've been visiting this sight for several years and I finally have a question to post (and hopefully some potential ideas for others).

Background:
I had a pond dug on my property in Northwestern Michigan in the summer of 2010. The site is at the bottom of a very steep ridge and the ground water level is anywhere from 2-4 feet below ground level depending on rainfall, temps, etc. The property is 100% pure sand. While the pond was being dug (via old giant military drag link crane) the hole filled almost as fast as it was dug. The deepest part (as of 2 weeks ago when I measured) was approx 8 feet deep. It has steep sides and is approx 1/4 acres. The only fish in the pond right now is 1 male bluegill transferred from my home pond (of 6 acres) and 12 goldfish that my knucklehead buddy threw in without my knowledge. These were a test for overwintering. They have all lived (and grown HUGE) over 2 winters. Last winter I went up with the family in hopes of ice skating and there was 12" of open water around the edge even though the temps were below 0 deg F for the previous week (does this mean a possible spring or extremely strong groundwater flow?).

The Goal: