Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
cgmbny, cgoetz1, BarkyDoos, beauphus, Lina
18,519 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,995
Posts558,331
Members18,519
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,579
ewest 21,510
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,155
Who's Online Now
8 members (Boondoggle, Omaha, Brian from Texas, bmicek, Angler8689, Fishingadventure, FireIsHot, DPSMESA), 1,102 guests, and 170 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
C
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
C
Newbie here, but been a lurker for a while!

As many of you know, the drought in South Texas has had a strong hold on all of us and just about brought us to our knees. After two good rains, all three of our ponds are now overflowing. Neither of these ponds have ever dried up since my wifes family bought the place back in the 70's.

All fish have died due to all ponds drying up. Now, we're back to square one. Nobody in the family (except me) wants to stock the pond again. I have a 20 mo old boy, and I see what the future holds.

The ponds max depth is only 9 ft or so, and the pond's avg depth is probably 7 foot, roughly 1 acre. We should have had a crew dig out the pond, but dont even get me started.

I decided to put some cinder blocks under the pier to give the baitfish a place to hide, and native brush had grown up around what used to be 4-5ft of water before it dried up. My point is, they should have sufficient shelter from birds of prey, etc.

Now- the question (sorry! haha) What do I start with, how many, and when?