Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
beauphus, Lina, blueyss, KiwiGuy, JKK
18,516 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,990
Posts558,269
Members18,516
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,575
ewest 21,507
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,154
Who's Online Now
12 members (Boondoggle, lafarmpondguy, FishinRod, Joe7328, Fishingadventure, liquidsquid, Sunil, Bobbss, Brian S., Bigtrh24, phinfan, DaveS), 1,098 guests, and 198 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#168269 06/13/09 10:58 PM
R
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
R
First of all, I am a newbie and have been reading everything I can get a hold of. I am starting a new business. Aquaculture. I am going to raise and sell threadfin shad in Oklahoma. I have 30 acres of land with multiple water wells. I am in the process of laying out the land to build ponds. I need help in the following categories:

Pond size
# of ponds to yield ~ 4K shad a week
fertilization
aeriation
holding and transportation (1.5 hrs max on transport)

Up front I admit I know very little and bow down to you experts for assistance.

Thanks

Brad

J
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
J
Hello Brad and welcome to Pond Boss. Hang on and one of the experts should be along to give you some feedback.

JHAP
~~~~~~~~~~

"My mind is a raging torrent, flooded with rivulets of thought cascading into a waterfall of creative alternatives."
...Hedley Lamarr (that's Hedley not Hedy)
O
Lunker
Lunker
O
Brad

Welcome to the forum you will love this place.
First. Have you checked your soil? How well will it hold water?

The pond size will be determined on the lay of the land and what mother nature has to offer.
You might save a lot of money on construction if you can build the ponds to take advantage of the topography of the land.

R
Lunker