Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
DerekG, lafarmpondguy, bmo, TanyaClick, Brian from Texas
18,511 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,984
Posts558,194
Members18,512
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,565
ewest 21,507
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,154
Who's Online Now
7 members (Fishingadventure, Boondoggle, bmo, FishinRod, JKK, DPSMESA, FireIsHot), 1,088 guests, and 159 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
B
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
B
Hello folks, I'm a newbie to the board and a semi-newbie in the world of pond management. I have a 6 acre irregularly shaped pond. The north end (shallow end) is 3'-6', the south end (deeper) is 6' to 15' deep. I have owned the property for 2 years now.
My problem is a very nasty Eurasian Watermilfoil infestation that went from around 25% of the pond last year to virtually 100% this year. There is also a population of Coontail, but not nearly as bad as the milfoil. From lurking for a while and reading incessantly, I surmise that it originated from a bass boat a friend of mine brought in to make me a depth profile of the pond shortly after we bought the property. It seems that that was a major mistake on my part. We treated with granular CuSO4 and Reward last year and this year also. NOT EFFECTIVE. It knocked it down somewhat and it returned with a vengeance both years. The water in the pond is crystal clear and we have very good circulation in this pond with prevailing winds. Algae gets to be a minor problem in late July and August when the water warms > 75-80 degrees but is easily alleviated with granular copper sulfate. The milfoil has reached monster proportions late this summer and there is a mat over around 25% of the pond and the growth makes it virtually impossible to navigate the pond in a boat with a trolling motor.