Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
lafarmpondguy, bmo, TanyaClick, Brian from Texas, Purplepiggies7
18,510 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,979
Posts558,160
Members18,511
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,565
ewest 21,505
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,154
Who's Online Now
8 members (Brian from Texas, Freunb02, nvcdl, DrewSh, Pat Williamson, anthropic, bmicek, tim k), 1,206 guests, and 247 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
P
Fingerling
OP Offline
Fingerling
P
Hi! I'm from Buenos Aires, Argentina.

I'm new with this, I already did an excavation pond. The shape is like a peanut, size is about 100m length x 20-35m width (300 ft x 60-100ft). Depth is 1,7 m (6 ft) with an angle of 1:3.
I estimate the area in 2.500 square-meters (0.6 acres), and around 1.000.000 gallons.

I have a swimming pool near the pond and I wonder if I could make the discharge of the pool into the pond. I know this is not recommendable, but is the easy option.
The discharge will be basically 2:
1- around 100 gallon a week cleaning the dirt in bottom of the swimming pool during the summer.
2- Empty the whole pool maybe 2 or 3 times during the summer (10.000 gallons).

I pretend to use the pond for recreation (swimming, boat, etc) and some fishes (I hope to barbecue some of those once a while )
Will that discharge be that harmful to the fishes?. I should treat the swimming pool with any chemical right before the discharge to compensate the effect of the Clorox?

I can do it? In that case, which cares I should take?

Sorry for my bad English!
Pablo

Here some photos (2 feet depth, 4 feet to go! )

Last edited by Pablo - ARG; 07/01/08 12:08 AM.
C
Lunker
Lunker
C
Welcome to Pondboss Pablo.

Don't worry about the chlorine.