Pond Boss
Posted By: crimsondave These bass are thin, right? - 05/07/20 04:16 AM
Caught these 2 today. Both were 6 pounds. One was 20", the other 19". I'm not a bass expert but they look thin don't they?

[Linked Image][Linked Image]

Attached picture Bass 1.jpg
Attached picture Bass 2.jpg
Posted By: anthropic Re: These bass are thin, right? - 05/07/20 04:44 AM
The one on the left looks kinda skinny, not so much the one on the right. But that might just be the angle.

However, a 20 inch six pounder is not underweight in my book. A 19 inch six pounder is, if anything, heavier than the norm.

By the way, CONGRATULATIONS on a job well done!
Posted By: crimsondave Re: These bass are thin, right? - 05/07/20 04:51 AM
Thanks so much. I had no idea what the length to weight ratio should be for that size. Well, any size for that matter. Thanks again.
Posted By: Snipe Re: These bass are thin, right? - 05/07/20 05:16 AM
crimsondave, use this link to plug in your numbers if you have a fairly accurate scale and the formula will convert to percentage of WR. Select the species of choice to open the proper document, The alpha and beta numbers are current in these.

http://forums.pondboss.com/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=413704#Post413704
Posted By: crimsondave Re: These bass are thin, right? - 05/07/20 05:28 AM
Thanks for that. It's showing them above average. Now I'm wondering if my scale is wrong. I'll use that going forward after I verify my scale is working right.
Posted By: LASouthpaw Re: These bass are thin, right? - 06/03/20 06:35 PM
Did you verify your scale? I'm trying to make that look like a 6 on my computer. For a 19 in bass to weigh 6, it would have to be super fat.
Posted By: Flame Re: These bass are thin, right? - 06/04/20 12:27 PM