Pond Boss
Posted By: viking bait for minnow trap - 05/18/06 07:58 PM
Been goofing off with a new minnow trap. I've never used one before and would like to know what is used for bait. I used a ball of bread suspended with string in the center of the trap, but that didn't attract any little fishies. I placed it in the shallows of my pond, there isn't a creak or any running water entering the pond.
Posted By: burgermeister Re: bait for minnow trap - 05/18/06 08:28 PM
The bread should have done it. Put it near some cover, fallen trees, grass. Wherever you think they may hang out. Put in some dog food. Also the alfalfa cubes from feed store are good. If holes are too big for dog food, get a dog goody bone. Most of it floats so you will have to put it in deep enough water.
Posted By: Edward P. Eitel Re: bait for minnow trap - 05/18/06 09:19 PM
viking,

I like to use fish food (pellets) placed in a small screen container.
It must have quite an odor because we can really catch the fatheads!

Ed
Posted By: viking Re: bait for minnow trap - 05/19/06 02:03 AM
Thanks ya'll

I have both dog food and fish feed will give them a try.
Posted By: Dave Davidson1 Re: bait for minnow trap - 05/19/06 02:42 AM
I just dump in some fish pellets. Some feed gets out but BG still come in.
Posted By: Ryan Freeze Re: bait for minnow trap - 05/19/06 12:46 PM
A friend let me borrow as minnow trap last weekend. I tied a handful of pellets in a piece of cheescloth and attached to the cage. These are the results after 1 hour.

Posted By: Meadowlark Re: bait for minnow trap - 05/19/06 12:51 PM
I do the same but use an empty water/soda plastic container filled with fish pellets and with holes punched in the container.

For some reason, I've never caught any baby Tilapia in one of these traps...Ryan have you or anyone else trapped baby Tilapia this way?
Posted By: Matt Clark Re: bait for minnow trap - 05/19/06 01:01 PM