Pond Boss
Posted By: Nate W Hi from Scranton PA area - 07/15/18 07:11 PM
Hi everyone-
I’ve been lurking here for a few weeks and have searched through a lot of old threads.
I have no experience with water other than drinking it and swimming but there’s a new development for us so I’ve come here hoping to find some help.

About 10 years ago a family member built a pond which never worked out. It’s 2-2/3 acres of surface area with a maximum depth around 12–14 feet. While it has held water for short periods of time it has always drained out. Our running theory is the excavators cracked the bluestone at the bottom of the dig. It’s pretty clear there will need some pretty extensive help to fix and time isn’t doing us any favors.
The real issue at the moment is the dam, and this is where I’m looking for advice. The outside of the dam is well mown grass with one or two ground hog burrows- I’m sure they can’t be a good thing.
Also, over 10 years a lot of brush and a number of trees have grown on the inside of the dam. It may be a couple of years more before we can give this any serious attention but if possible I’d like to limit any extra damage over the next 2-4 years. Some of the trees are reaching 4+” diameter and most everything is fast growing soft wood. Should I cut the trees and leave a couple of feet of stump to stop root infiltration? What about willows and similar bushes? I had considered cutting their branches to maybe a foot long to limit their growth.
Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Posted By: Dave Davidson1 Re: Hi from Scranton PA area - 07/17/18 02:29 AM
Small trees like that should be ok to kill. If they get much bigger, they can be a real problem. I have good success with Remedy and diesel applied to the trunk.
Posted By: Nate W Re: Hi from Scranton PA area - 07/18/18 12:56 AM