Pond Boss
Posted By: wps456 Pond design 101 - 04/22/20 04:04 PM
Newbie here, here was a part of my post on the new member intro page:
"Bought some land a while back with a small bout .25 acre pond that was basically used as a livestock watering hole. It's rectangular shaped with trees on 3 sides. Not sure how deep but I've never seen it get too low over the last 2 1/2 years. I've never seen, caught or even had a bite from a fish in there. It's usually completely covered by the good ol' green slime by early May til late October making it unfishable. The plan is to expand it to probably about an acre in size."
Basically the 3 sides with trees are a u-shaped levee covered in trees and the 1 open side is a gradual slope into the water for the livestock to easily walk into the water (livestock are off the property now). Long term goal here is just a fun fishing pond (LMB, CC, BG). So what are the basics for me to know for the design/expansion? Lots of shoreline (fingers/peninsulas, island or 2)? Water depths (I'm in northwest Arkansas)? Ratio of deep to shallow water? I did talk to a contractor that has experience building ponds (and not just holes in the ground), so that was really encouraging but we still need to come up with an overall design. Sorry for the basic questions, I'll take any advice y'all have.
Thank you!!
edit: I added a photo from a while back (it's the best I had), from what you can see of the trees, the right side of the pond (cut off in the pic) looks the same. You can also see the green scum as well and that pic was taken on Dec 22-2018 (at least the ducks like it!!). I may need to run out there and take a better pic or 2.

Attached picture IMG_4643.JPG
Posted By: wps456 Re: Pond design 101 - 08/05/20 02:52 AM