Pond Boss
Posted By: Chad C 4026 Comments wanted on using a rot basket. - 05/05/07 12:40 AM
I would like to know what everybody thinks about using a wire basket filling it with fish scraps or old meat and letting it rot so maggots fall thus feeding your fish. Ive been doing it for two years and its cool to see bluegill and schools of perch go to town under it.
I think it's a great idea as long as you don't mind the smell! \:D
Posted By: rmedgar Re: Comments wanted on using a rot basket. - 05/05/07 01:37 AM
Chad, the most obvious potential problem might be the smell, but it does sound like a great idea.
Which sounds worse - "rot basket" or "maggot box"? :rolleyes:

I have considered the concept, Chad. I decided I wouldn't do it in a pond my family swims in. I didn't like the thought of the chunks of fur from old road kill getting in the pond.

I believe that was the one decision wrt the pond I made last year that my wife considers sane.
Posted By: bz Re: Comments wanted on using a rot basket. - 05/05/07 05:28 AM
I've too been doing this for several years. Works great, smells bad when you're down wind. My pond extends way out beyond my back yard far enough that you never smell it from the yard. So the family doesn't even know it's there. I use waste fish and road kill in my basket. I think it's a very efficient way to convert dead things into fish food. The following is not for the faint of heart ... I put a grey squirrel on there once and when it was fully maggotized I picked it up by the tail and shook the maggots out the mouth and eyes. I swear I got two cups of maggots and the hide was empty afterwards other than bones. In a couple of days it turned from squirrel to high protein fish food. And it's free.