Pond Boss
Posted By: GlenH How long for a clay pond to seal - 11/01/20 05:27 PM
I live in the Sandhills of NC, Pond size 150ft by 90ft by 6ft deep lined with gumbo clay, compacted with a vibratory roller/compactor, clay depth 8 to 12inches thick, using well to pump water in, tool 4 days to fill, left pump on for a week and shut it off, lost about 6 inches in the 1st 24hrs. How long for the pond to seal with only losing water to evaporation? Do I need to leave the pump running for a few months? Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Posted By: RStringer Re: How long for a clay pond to seal - 11/01/20 06:17 PM
I'm no expert on this so take it for wht it cost ya. I pretty sure it will absorb some water before it all sealed up. I would keep running it off and on to keep it topped off for awhile. Maybe keep it filled for a few months then check it again.
Posted By: John Fitzgerald Re: How long for a clay pond to seal - 11/01/20 08:02 PM
I have three solid clay ponds. The small forage/settlement pond sealed immediately. One of the others (1/4 acre) took a year to completely seal, and the other one (1/4 acre) has not sealed after 5 years. So, it varies. I think maybe some roots were left in the dam of the leaker, but I can't be sure where the leak or leaks are.
Posted By: Bobbss Re: How long for a clay pond to seal - 11/01/20 09:32 PM
I'm no expert either but since you can fill it back up pretty quick, I would put a measuring stake in if you haven't already done so. Then I would see how far it will drop and if it drops slower, the lower it gets. Then I would refill it again and see if it drops any slower the next time. Maybe try it a few times and if it does better each time, then try keeping it full a little longer and see how it does. If it doesn't keep getting better, I think I would let it drain and see if you can find out why before things get to muddy and hard to work on.
Posted By: teehjaeh57 Re: How long for a clay pond to seal - 11/03/20 06:53 AM
Hi Glen: