Pond Boss
Posted By: Captain1 Rate my Bass - 05/19/11 06:53 PM
I just caught what is our new pond record bass and likely my personal best as well. I did not have a measuring or weighing device with me. This is a horrible angle photo taken with my I-phone from above the fish, so the body looks pretty puny in the photo. I am hoping that some of the experts can help me estimate a weight. My largest personal bass catch from another lake was right at 5 lbs and this fish seemed bigger to me than that. My ballpark estimate length of this fish is 23-24 inches. Any estimates from the experts on weight?

Posted By: Captain1 Re: Rate my Bass - 05/19/11 06:59 PM
We have been actively culling 10-14" bass as I think we are overpopulated. I let this one go - but it did seem thin to me.
Posted By: MRHELLO Re: Rate my Bass - 05/19/11 07:04 PM
It may be post spawn as well, which I am sure pulls the weight off.

Just a thought, but I am no expert.

Thanks for the pic.
Posted By: Greg Grimes Re: Rate my Bass - 05/20/11 11:53 AM
So hard to tell in that photo. I like to base a guess off a releative wieght chart. I ahve seen so many bass that I can accurtely guess the WR score then if I know the length give the wieght. Try this chart. Sorry it is in grams the first column has 100% in lbs however or just divide 454 to get lbs. We haev in in lbs also but for some reason not on our badly outdated website. http://lakework.com/site/documents/Largemouth%20Bass%20Relative%20Weight%20Index.pdf
long story if indeed 23 inches and healthy 7 lber.
Posted By: esshup Re: Rate my Bass - 05/20/11 01:56 PM
O.K. Greg, gimme a weight:

Posted By: Captain1 Re: Rate my Bass - 05/20/11 03:15 PM