Pond Boss
Posted By: Oklahoma Price in SE Oklahoma - 04/20/20 03:28 AM
Just bought 100 acres and I’m looking to build a 1.5 th 2.5 acre pond no trees to clear. Anyone able to give me a guesstimate of what that will run? There are some massive watersheds in the area that the army core of engineers put in and tons of ponds in the area so I’m assuming the soil I’d pretty good. There are tons of rocks on top of the soil so I’m not sure what that means... 123 go!
Posted By: TGW1 Re: Price in SE Oklahoma - 04/21/20 12:56 PM
Okie, I grew up in Oklahoma but left there when I graduated high school. Welcome to the forum. Since no one else has jumped in for an answer I guess I will. How about $15,000 per acre. There is a phrase here on the forum and that is "IT DEPENDS" . And I would say it is a pretty good commit considering we don't know what you have to start with.
Posted By: Dave Davidson1 Re: Price in SE Oklahoma - 04/21/20 06:13 PM
Okie, drive around the area looking for ponds. Ask who did it, how much it cost and whether they would use that guy again. Ask why.
Posted By: Oklahoma Re: Price in SE Oklahoma - 07/07/20 10:09 PM
Just got quoted 4-5000 an acre..
Posted By: Jambi Re: Price in SE Oklahoma - 07/08/20 09:42 PM
Saw your other post - will comment here. Did the NRCS help you with a design? I asked them for help and within two days they gave me an outline based on topography, amount of dirt to construct the dam, spillway location, emergency overflow, and ideas for discharge pipe sizing. The quote per acre doesn't mean much - the contractor needs to know "how much dirt" to be moved. My contractor was very familiar with the NRCS's designs and punched his calculator based on the yardage. Hope to break ground in a few weeks.
Posted By: Snipe Re: Price in SE Oklahoma - 07/08/20 10:47 PM
4000-5000 acre??? That might get you a hole-but not a "pond".