Pond Boss
Posted By: thor4944 First Time pond guy here Gravel question :( - 03/03/14 03:24 AM
Ok ...I hope you all don’t kill my dreams but I always wanted a Pond ever since I was a boy. Now we finally moved out into the country and bough 2 and 1/2 aches and a pond guy did some test holes. 2 of them and both had great clay about 9 feet down then gravel. He dug about 12 feet total and had gravel in both spots. Ok he said he could do the pond but it would only be 10 feet deep with Bennite or something like that and the cost was 22,000 dollars. I have my masters in Biology so I know about Eutrophication and know in a shallow pond you get that and I don’t want that. Another guy who did a few ponds said no problem and he would pack clay and all would be fine. 10,000 without Benite and 14000 with. Both ponds would be about 1/2 archer??? Something like that. The second guy said he could make it 12 feet. Help...I am way out of my element. I really would like a pond and if this does not work the money goes into one of those swimming pools...LOL YUCK!!! I really hope you all have good news for me..It took me about 2 days to find this site and I am really excited to hear what you all say...thanks!!! smile
Welcome to the forum!

It doesn't matter how deep they go into the gravel providing the clay is good, AND they pack it back into the pond bottom, knitting it together with the clay at 8'-9' depth. Minimum of three 6" lifts, knitted together. I'd really prefer to see 4 lifts, so you'd have a 24" layer of properly compacted clay over the gravel and make sure that it's tied into the shallower existing clay. Think of making a bowl of clay that you want to hold water.