Pond Boss
Posted By: Paul252013 Starting a New Pond Management Business - 09/26/21 12:42 AM
I am looking for some guidance on how to go about starting my own pond management business for treating ponds for algae and weeds. I have some work experience in the field of pond management but not a lot. Also, I don't how to locate distributors in order to purchase chemicals and other products in bulk, I don't even know where to begin on how to price my services. I haven't purchased any equipment yet but have been looking into some backpack sprayers to start with, I would like to buy a small boat and equip it with a spray rig but not completely sure how to set it up. I also know that my closest competitors are almost 2 hours away, I live in southeastern Ohio and there are a lot of ponds in this area. Any advice or information is greatly appreciated.
I suggest that you work several years for a established and reputable pond company. This assumes that the employer is well leaned and knowledgable. IMO there are lot of naive pond "jockeys" out there claiming to be pond managers. Ask and learn all you can while working on the job, then start gradually building customers until you can support it full time. It helps to have sound and good biological training with some chemistry background and learning experiences. You will and should learn that pond management business is not just killing plants and stocking fish. Part of your job should be educating the customer. Few do this IMO because the Pro Pond manager does not have good sound ecological knowledge in the first place